Tacoma, Washington Employment Lawyer

5224 Olympic Drive
Suite 110
Gig Harbor, WA 98335
Phone: 253-858-6601
Fax: 253-858-6603

Filing a Wage and Hour Claim - New Jersey

Does New Jersey have state overtime laws that are different from federal law?

Like federal law, New Jersey labor law counts as overtime any hours worked beyond 40 in a given week and requires that overtime hours be paid at a rate of one and one-half the employee's regular hourly wage.

The overtime requirement does not cover the following employees:

  • Outside salespeople
  • Employees subject to applicable wage orders
  • Employees working in a hotel
  • Bona fide executive, administrative, or professional employees ("white collar exceptions")
  • Employees working on a farm, or except those involved in the first processing of farm products
  • Employees of common carriers of passengers by motor bus
  • Limousine drivers employed by a business that operates limousines
  • Employees of a summer camp operated by a non-profit or religious association during the months of June, July, August, and September
  • Employees engaged in the raising or care of livestock

Does New Jersey have a minimum wage that is different from federal law?

New Jersey minimum wage is $8.85 per hour, which is higher than the federal minimum wage of $7.25. In July 2019 the minimum wage in New Jersey increases to $10.00 per hour and will increase in January 2020 and again each January until 2024 when it will reach $15 per hour.

Employers can use tips and gratuities to reduce the minimum wage required to $2.13 per hour. However, the fair value of any food or lodging provided by an employer is not included in the definition of wages. Furthermore, if you pay for a uniform in cash and that payment brings your weekly wages below the minimum wage level, your employer must make up the difference to bring you back up to minimum wage for that week.

The following employees are not covered by the minimum wage requirement:

  • Full-time students employed by the college or university at which they are enrolled (must be paid at least 85% of minimum wage)
  • Learners, apprentices and students with a special permit from the state
  • Outside salespersons
  • Salespersons of motor vehicles
  • Part-time employees primarily engaged in the care and tending of children in the home of the employer
  • Persons under age 18, with some exceptions (learners, apprentices, and students, first processing of farm products, hotel and motel occupations, food service occupations)
  • Persons employed in a voluntary capacity and receiving only incidental benefits at a county or other agricultural fair run by a non-profit or religious association that conducts or participates in the fair
  • Student learners enrolled in a School-To-Work program
  • Persons employed at summer camps, conferences, and retreats operated by any non-profit or religious corporation or association during the months of June, July, August, and September
  • Tipped employees
  • Handicapped individuals

For more information on wages in New Jersey, visit the Department of Labor’s website.

Do any cities or counties in New Jersey have a minimum wage that is different from state or federal law?

No cities or counties in New Jersey currently have a minimum wage different from the state minimum of $8.85 per hour.

Does New Jersey have meal and rest break requirements, unlike federal law?

New Jersey law does not require an employer to provide employees with paid or unpaid meal periods or breaks for employees aged 18 or older. However, the state requires that employees younger than 18 years must be given a 30-minute break after five consecutive hours of work.

Does New Jersey have other labor standards laws that are different from federal law?

Normally for an employer in New Jersey to be able to deduct wages for any allowable reason (e.g. retirement accounts, medical care, cleaning of uniforms), the employer must obtain the employee's written approval.

New Jersey's Department of Labor (NJ DOL) may impose administrative penalties for violations of the wage and hour laws. The maximum penalty for a first violation is $250, and for any subsequent violation the maximum is $500. Willful violation of the wage and hour laws can lead, for a first offense, to a fine of between $100 and $1000 and/or between 10 and 90 days in prison. For subsequent violations, the penalty is a fine of between $500 and $1000 and/or between 10 and 100 days in prison.

How do I file a wage/hour or labor standards claim in New Jersey?

If your employer owes you wages, you can learn how to file a wage complaint with New Jersey's Department of Labor (NJ DOL) under the Wage Payment Law or the Wage and Hour Law. This can be filed online or you can fill out a mail-in form. NJ DOL will then issue a summons to your employer, who will have to appear at a hearing within five to fifteen days. If the amount claimed is less than $10,000, or you are willing to accept a maximum award of $10,000 and forfeit anything above that amount, NJ DOL can issue a decision and an award.

What are my time deadlines?

If you have a wage/hour claim, do not delay in contacting NJ DOL to file a claim, or in contacting a lawyer if you wish to bring a claim in New Jersey Superior Court. In order for NJ DOL to act on your behalf, you must file a claim within two years of the alleged violation. As you might have other legal claims with shorter deadlines, do not wait to file your claim until your time limit is close to expiring. It may be helpful to consult with an attorney prior to filing your claim, but it is not necessary to have an attorney to file your claim.

How can I or my attorney pursue a claim in court in New Jersey?

If your employer owes you wages, you can file a claim in New Jersey Superior Court no matter how much money you are owed. In addition to wages due, the court can award you costs and reasonable attorney's fees. You can file a claim both with NJ DOL and in New Jersey Superior Court, but if you do so NJ DOL will not act on the claim until the court has resolved it. You must file your claim in New Jersey Superior Court within two years of the date on which you believe you were owed wages by your employer. Learn more about how to represent yourself (i.e. without an attorney) in New Jersey state courts.

State Labor Agency

Wage & Hour General Information:
Telephone: (609) 292-2305
Fax: (609) 695-1174

Email: Wage.Hour@dol.nj.gov

Mailing Address
NJ Division of Wage and Hour Compliance
P.O. Box 389
Trenton, NJ 08625-0389

For Overnight Mail
New Jersey Department of Labor & Workforce Development
Division of Wage and Hour Compliance
1 John Fitch Plaza, 3rd Floor
Trenton, NJ 08611

Wage Collection
NJ Division of Wage and Hour Compliance
Wage Collection Section
1 John Fitch Plaza 1st Floor
PO Box 389
Trenton, NJ 08625-0389
Telephone: (609) 292-3658
Fax: (609) 984-3005

Terry A. Venneberg Weekly Weekly

Topic of the Week

Domestic Violence and the Workplace

Read more...

Blog of the Week

The Nightmare Facing the Poor and Working Class If There’s Not Another Stimulus

With time running out and Republicans balking at more Covid relief, U.S. workers are facing a future of financial misery.

Thought for the Week

"Domestic violence and sexual assault walk in the doors of each and every workplace every day here in the United States. Domestic violence robs our employees of their dignity and their health, and these issues hide in darkness until we bring them into the light."

–Kim Wells | Executive director of the Corporate Alliance to End Partner Violence

List of the Week

from Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM)

Domestic Violence & The Workplace

  • One in every four women and one in 10 men will experience domestic violence in their lifetime
  • The Department of Labor reports that victims of domestic violence lose nearly 8 million days of paid work per year in the U.S., resulting in a $1.8 billion loss in productivity for employers.
  • An estimated 1.3 million women are victims of physical assault by an intimate partner each year and that 85% of domestic violence victims are women.
  • 21% of full-time employed adults said they were victims of domestic violence and 74% of that group said they’ve been harassed at work.
  • 65% of companies don’t have a formal workplace domestic violence prevention policy, according to research conducted by the.

Top Five News Headlines

  1. We need to talk about the science behind implicit bias training
  2. Trump Issues Order Giving Him More Leeway to Hire and Fire Federal Workers
  3. Amazon workers threaten to shut down warehouses if employees don’t get a day off to vote.
  4. What employees should know about expressing their political beliefs outside the workplace
  5. The Do’s and Don’ts of Workplace Etiquette